Maitland High School

Successful Teachers, Successful Students, Successful School

Telephone02 4933 7933

Emailmaitland-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

Science

Science is mandatory for all students from Year 7 to Year 10.

Science 7-10 provides a way of inquiring about the world around us. It explores evidence and investigates ways to discover, develop and produce solutions to real-world problems. Science emphasises the skills for working scientifically, as well as critical and creative thinking to address scientific issues.

In Years 11 and 12, students can choose from different science disciplines, including:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Investigating Science
  • Physics.

In Year 12, students who are studying at least one other science subject may also choose to study Science Extension.

Science Staff:

Scott Parrey (Head Teacher): scott.parrey@det.nsw.edu.au

Megan Elliott (Student attendance): megan.elliott7@det.nsw.edu.au

Dane Hockley (Year 11 Advisor): dane.hockley3@det.nsw.edu.au

Leanne Holt (Science Technician): Leanne.holt1@det.nsw.edu.au

David Leahy: David.leahy1@det.nsw.edu.au

Kerrie Merrick: kerrie.merrick1@det.nsw.edu.au

Alexander Morrison: alexander.morrison8@det.nsw.edu.au

Thomas Robinson: Thomas.robinson59@det.nsw.edu.au

Stephanie Tedd: stephanie.tedd@det.nsw.edu.au

Robert Walker: Robert.j.walker@det.nsw.edu.au

Oenone Wood (Maths/Science): oenone.wood2@det.nsw.edu.au

At Maitland High School, a dynamic team of teachers leads the NSW Syllabus for the Australian Curriculum. Teachers consider the diverse needs of all students, outlining clearly what students are expected to know and be able to do. Students from Year 7 through to Year 12, have many opportunities to participate in many learning experiences outside of the Science Labs such as visits to Luna Park, Taronga Zoo, Shortland Wetland, The University of Newcastle, Science and Engineering Challenge, Nuclear Medicine, ANSTO Nuclear Reactor, Maritime Museum.