Maitland High School

Successful Teachers, Successful Students, Successful School

Telephone02 4933 7933

Emailmaitland-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

English

English study is mandatory in NSW from Kindergarten to Year 12.

Language shapes our understanding of ourselves and our world.

It is the primary means by which we relate to others and is central to the intellectual, social and emotional development of all students.

English is the study and use of the English language in its various textual forms. These encompass spoken, written and visual texts of varying complexity through which meaning is shaped, conveyed, interpreted and reflected.  

English is a mandatory subject for all students from Kindergarten to Year 12. In years 7-10, students follow the English National Curriculum K-10.

In Years 11 and 12, Maitland High School offers various English courses to students. These courses include:

  • Advanced English
  • Standard English
  • English Studies
  • English Extension One
  • English Extension Two

Stage 6 English Syllabus 

For further information about which course is right for you please see your English teacher or the Head Teacher English.

We recommend that all RoSA and HSC students subscribe to the BOSTES Bulletin in order to receive relevant information and notifications from BOSTES about their courses. It is very simple to register and takes only a few moments.

Meet the English Faculty

 

Mr Cory MacDonald - HT: cory.macdonald@det.nsw.edu.au

Ms Liz Everson:  liz.everson@det.nsw.edu.au

Ms Melissa Bristow: melissa.bristow@det.nsw.edu.au

Miss Katherine Royle: katherine.royle@det.nsw.edu.au

 Miss Stacey Diessel: stacey.diessel1@det.nsw.edu.au

Ms Corinne Lavis: corinne.lavis@det.nsw.edu.au

 Miss Alana Malone: alana.malone4@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Tom Tsamouras: thomas.tsamouras@det.nsw.edu.au

Ms India Bos: india.bos@det.nsw.edu.au

What's happening in English?

Seven Steps for Writing Success

This year our Year 7 students have been participating in an exciting new writing program called the “Seven Steps to Writing Success”.

Seven Steps is a unique system which chunks writing into seven main techniques. Through chunking, students learn in small parts and practice just those steps until they have mastered them. 

The seven steps include: 
Plan for SuccessSizzling StartsTightening TensionDynamic DialogueShow Don’t TellBan the Boring Bitsand Exciting Endings.

The students are loving learning these skills and are producing some excellent writing. Their writing has been so good it was published on the Seven Steps facebook page. 
These lessons are an excellent chance for students to practice and perfect writing skills while learning to be very creative.

Invested in our Learning Space

The English Faculty is keen to promote a positive and stimulating learning and working environment for all. Throughout 2016, we have been renovating our classrooms by repainting and have placed an emphasis on having ‘walls that teach’ by providing students with vibrant and interesting visual displays that reflect the content being taught.

Suggested Reading Lists

Click on the images below for some great suggested reading lists for teens.