Maitland High School

Successful Teachers, Successful Students, Successful School

Telephone02 4933 7933

Emailmaitland-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

Computing

Why Choose Computing?

Over the next 10 years it's hard to imagine any job that will not have some computer involvement. Digital literacy in students across Australia are well below other developed nations. It's not enough for students to understand how to use technology in the jobs of tomorrow, they must understand how it works if they are to have any chance in a global job market. 

View the  4 Corners 'Future proof our jobs of tomorrow' report on the importance of choosing computing subjects in high school. A must view for all parents.

What will students learn?

  • Animation and Effects
  • Coding skills
  • Game Development & Design
  • Image Manipulation
  • Internet & Website Development
  • Media & Graphic Design
  • Programming & Problem Solving
  • Robotics & Engineering
  • Video Production and Editing

Computer Staff 

Donna Chapman-Hardy (HT): donna.chapman-hardy@det.nsw.edu.au

Robert Eaton (HT Wellbeing, Year 10 Advisor): robert.eaton3@det.nsw.edu.au

Josh Noble (Year 7 Advisor): josh.noble4@det.nsw.edu.au

Grace Limond: grace.limond2@det.nsw.edu.au

Mike Mangovski: mike.mangovski@det.nsw.edu.au

 

 

Year 7 and 8 Subjects (Stage 4)

Digital Technologies

Animation and Games

Tech Girls

3D design and printing

Robotics

Year 9 and 10 Subjects (stage 5)

Information & Software Technology

Multimedia

Robotics

Python Programming

 

Gaming in Unity

Girls in STEM

iSTEM

Year 11 and 12 Subjects (Stage 6)

Software Design & Development

Information Processes & Technology

Industrial Technology Multimedia

 

Computer Applications

Information & Digital Technology VET

National Competitions

On top of the above subjects offered, Maitland High School also participates in many national competitions. It's a fantastic opportunity for students to challenge themselves, learn valuable computational skills and bolster their resume.